Home made tomato sauce for pasta

I wasn’t going to blog about Eat well for Less again but  was so annoyed by the family they showed  and their profligate food spend that I am forced to reiterate what Gregg Wallace said to them about pasta sauces! There is no added sugar in this.

Every student I ever taught has learned to make it and add to it Bolognese or multiple chopped vegetables , put on pasta topping, serve over meatballs/koftas etc.

Tomato sauce ingredients less than 50p

Tomato sauce ingredients less than 50p

All you need is a carton of plain passata (31p from Lidl- came up as Cirio too when I scanned it for MFP) or use chopped tomatoes

1 onion

1 clove garlic

Tablespoon oil

Herbs and spices to taste

Simply heat oil gently, fry onion and garlic until soft, add tomatoes and seasoning then simmer at least 30 minutes.

That’s all

It freezes really well so make a big batch.

Simple and CHEAP and healthy. Kids love it

2 thoughts on “Home made tomato sauce for pasta

  1. My weekly food budget is around £25. That’s for food, not stuff like toilet roll etc. So I have to be very careful what I spend money on. I have so many frozen vegetable lasagne portions and vegetable pasta sauce like the one you have made in your blog, although I’ve added courgette, peppers, mushrooms and spinach to mine. I spend about £6 on the ingredients and it makes up to 8 meals (that includes the cost of the cheap pasta too). You can of COURSE spend a ridiculous amount of money on food, but when your budget is £100 per month, you have to get realistic. I didn’t watch the programme, but it was all over my Facebook timeline. To spend in excess of £300 per week on food is ridiculous. People need to get a grip on reality. I dread to think how much food they wasted!

    • Well said. In school to teach year 5 we used root vegetables and celery in the winter in the tomato veggie sauces too. Another very cheap thing to make is vegetable soup bulked out with pearl barley. Even nicer if you can manage to roast a chicken and make stock in slow cooker if you have one?

Leave a Reply

