‘Best Before’ and ‘Use by’ Confusion

What Chris did next

When I was teaching the students were always confused about ‘best before’ and ‘use by’ dates. As we know best before means things are till edible and safe  just not at their ‘best’ There are probably numerous things in my pantry  like this including Marmite dated best before September 2011 but I can’t say I have noticed any difference in it and with that amount of salt it will probably last forever.

However why on earth do the supermarkets put ‘Best before’  on bags of potatoes and apples? They last for months if stored properly and no potatoes do not need to be  in the fridge gah!  More than once I have had to stop a child throwing them in the bin  even though they all looked perfect.

I would tell them that ‘Use by’ is an instruction applying only to high protein foods and although I would not…

View original post 122 more words

Leave a Reply

